What have we been up to so far this term.

We met to discuss the INSET sessions and to process the feedback from the surveys that ended each session. We have been greatly encouraged by the response?

Things you would be interested in trying

  Likely Possibly No chance!
You observe us 46 22 1
We observe you 30 34  
Discus an issue/idea 48 26  
Open door 41 43 2
Advertise something happening in your classroom 21 26 6

We have been trying to build on some of the ideas that we started exploring as part of the OTP sessions last term. In particular we have been trying to do less and exploring ways of getting students to do more.

Justin has conducted quite a bit of research into ideas like the Flipped classroom and Howard Gardner’s theories of multiple intelligences: http://youtu.be/uBknM7-AkAM

He has also tried to take a broad look at how schools are re-organising their curriculum in radical ways.

I have been trying to concentrate on some technological things that can potentially make a difference to the ways students learn.

I have done quite a bit of experimentation with Imperoto try to challenge the lack of student-teacher and student-student interactivity that can so often be a feature of computer lessons. I have been particularly interested in ways in which the teacher can access, engage with and contribute to a student’s work-in-progress. I will be writing more on this.

I have also registered my two A2, two AS and 1 Yr11 groups on Google Docs so that we I can monitor, access, mark and interact with their work online. Here are the advantages of this that I outlined to them in an email:

From now on, I will be asking you to submit all extended pieces of HWK via Google Docs/Documents.
This has the following advantages:
– I can mark online and you can see comments/marks as soon as I type them. You don’t have to wait for a lesson.
– You can actually read my comments because they will be typed. I have terrible handwriting.
– I can never lose your work and we avoid any arguments about whether or not you actually handed it in.
– You will have all your work in one place. This acts as a useful back up for you and is especially handy when it comes to revision.
– I can easily see who has completed hwk tasks
– It saves on printer ink and saves paper for all of us.
– It’s much easier to re-draft a piece of work, using my comments to make changes as you go.

Further down the line, it is also possible to use this technology so that you can:
– work on the same document in pairs or groups for HWK.
– share your work with each other for peer-marking / commenting etc
– see examples of really excellent work that I can share with you

I have supported JH in setting up her Yr 11 English class on the English wiksispace. This gives students an opportunity to peer mark each other’s work online.

JG in Art is interested in exploring ways of using audio/video recordings to help students to develop the confidence and language skills necessary to evaluate creative work. I am going to be supporting art colleagues in doing this.

In the next couple of months I want to implement some teaching ideas which involve the use of mobile phones.

Leave a Reply

